Teen drivers unfortunately cause many accidents. If you’ve been involved in an accident with a teen driver, our car accident lawyer in Aurora IL can help you understand your legal rights. Contact Carlson Bier Associates today for a consultation at 312-622-2900.
Many teens are eager to get behind the wheel of a car after spending 14 hours in the classroom. Illinois state law requires that most teenagers must pass a written test and get their learner’s permit before receiving a driver’s license. Even with training, some teenage drivers can act irresponsibly and take dangerous risks in their vehicles.
There are more regulations for teen drivers in Illinois
As a teen driver, you are required to follow state laws on the following rules:
- Pass a written test. You must pass an exam on traffic signs, road rules and other driving requirements in order to receive your learner’s permit.
- Get your learner’s permit. After passing the written test, you will get an Illinois Division of Driver Services learner’s permit that allows you to practice driving but cannot be used as identification or proof of age. The permit is valid for six months from date issued unless canceled or revoked by DMV before then
Once you have obtained your driver’s license as a teenager, you must do the following:
- Limit the number of passengers in your vehicle. If you are under 20, you cannot have more than one passenger in the car unless a parent or guardian is present. There are exceptions to this rule.
- No driving between 11pm and 6am. You may not drive between 11 p.m. and 6 a.m., except for school-related activities or emergencies. If you are pulled over, your parent or guardian will receive a ticket with the fine amount of $25-$100 and two points on their driving record. You can be convicted of violating this law if you’re caught driving at night without being accompanied by another licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and who has at least one year of driving experience in the last three years.
- Drive safely with no distractions. It’s important to make sure you’re driving safely, especially when you’re younger. Avoid using cell phones, even hands-free devices, while driving for the first year after being licensed. If a teen has a learner’s permit and is in the car with an adult who has a valid driver’s license then they can use their cell phone or GPS as long as they use hands-free technology. Don’t text while driving or eat/drink while behind the wheel at any time.
- Obey speed limits, traffic signals, and traffic laws. You can reduce the risk of a teen driver getting into a car accident by following the rules of the road. Teens should focus on learning how to drive safely before they start going out with friends who have cars. Practicing defensive driving will help teens avoid accidents altogether by being aware of other drivers’ mistakes before they happen.
- Always wear your seat belt. It’s the law and it can save your life.
Teenage drivers, in particular, are more likely than other groups of drivers to experience auto accidents in Illinois. If you’ve been in an accident, contact our car accident lawyer in Aurora IL for a consultation.
Contact our car accident lawyer in Aurora IL if you’ve been in an accident
Teen drivers have a record of getting into more accidents than others. They have less experience, are often distracted by music, phone, or other people in the car, and they engage in more risky behavior like drinking and driving.
If you are a new driver, make sure you always practice good driving habits and obey the rules of the road. This way, you will not only be safer but also avoid being caught up in an accident with other drivers who aren’t paying attention to their driving. If you have been in an accident, our car accident lawyer in Aurora IL can help. Contact Carlson Bier Associates today for a consultation.